banner USF Home College of Engineering OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Engineering > AAFAWCE NSF ADVANCE-PAID


AAFAWCE's Mission:

Increase the representation and promote the advancement of academic women in chemistry and engineering, thereby developing a more diverse science and engineering workforce.

AAFAWCE's Goals:

Funded by the National Science Foundation on September 1st, 2009, the goals of the AAFAWCE ADVANCE-PAID project are:

  • To increase recruitment of women on the faculty in chemistry and engineering

  • To enhance retention by mentoring academic women

  • To promote leadership within the university and the scientific and engineering fields


  • Recruitment of Women Faculty: To assure the recruitment of women faculty to the sciences and engineering by providing opportunities, best practices and strategies for hiring women faculty in these areas.

  • Retention of Women Faculty through Mentoring and Advising: To assure the retention of women faculty in the sciences and engineering the Alliance will provide opportunities, infrastructure, and resources for mentoring and advising assistant and associate professors.

  • Promotion of Leadership Among Women Faculty: To increase the number of women in chemistry and engineering capitalizing on their leadership skills for career advancement and the attainment of leadership positions.

AAFAWCE Collaboration

AAFAWCE is a collaboration of five Florida state universities: University of South Florida, Florida State University, the University of Florida, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University and Florida International University.

USF Logo

PI: Sylvia W. Thomas, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering
Senior Personnel: Will Tyson, Ph.D., Associate Professor Sociology
Senior Personnel: Eva Fernandez, College of Engineering
Project Manager: Chrystal A.S. Smith, Ph.D., Sociology

FSU Logo

PI: Penny J. Gilmer, Ph.D., D. Sc.Ed., Professor Emerita, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Co-PI: Garnett Stokes, Ph.D., Provost
Co-PI: Dr. Dragana Popović, Ph.D., Scholar/Scientist, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Co-PI: Rufina Alamo, Ph.D., Professor, Chemical and Biomedical Engineering

FSU Logo

PI: Angel Kwolek-Folland, Ph.D., Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
Co-PI: Cammy R. Abernathy, Ph.D., Dean of Engineering
Co-PI: Anne E. Donnelly, Ph.D., Associate Director, Particle Engineering Research Center
Co-PI:Lisa McElwee-White, Ph.D., Professor, Chemistry

FSU Logo

PI: Simone Peterson Hruda, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Co-PI: Ngozi Ugochukwu, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Chemistry

FSU Logo

PI: Berrin Tansel, Ph.D., Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Co-PI: Jarka Miksovska, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Co-PI: Gustavo Roig, Ph.D., Associate Dean, Engineering